Return to Headlines

Three GISD Destination Imagination Teams Compete at Global Finals

The Greenville ISD Destination Imagination teams had a very successful season, with three teams qualifying for the Global Finals in Knoxville, TN held May 24-27th.

The Greenville High School Technical team competes in the technical challenge, which prompts student to complete tasks by using engineering, research, and strategy skills. Their challenge this year was to present a show with an opening and headlining act while designing a stage for the show that will transport a team member from one location to another. They also had to incorporate technical effects to “amaze” the audience. Team members are Makayla Woods, Maria Seaholm, Brenda Muniz, Jacoby Schnautz, and Karla Valdez. Team managers are Kim Vermillion, Valarie Seaholm, and Bonnie Stewart.

The Greenville High School Scientific team faces a challenge that blends the research and curiosity of science that blends the research of science with the creativity of theater arts. Their challenge this year was to create and present a story about a secret mission the applied the methods of cryptology and steganography to reveal a secret message. They also had to create a gadget that appears to be an everyday object and integrate a disguised character into the story. Team members are Kate Willeford, Allison Millard, Chloe Burk, Ella Walker, Martha Hill, Destini Johnson, and Joselyn Ocanas. Team managers are Will Anderton and Justin Anderton.

The Greenville Middle School/Sixth Grade Center Engineering team is tasked with designing, building, and testing a load-bearing structure out of specific materials. This year, the team was asked to design, build, and test multiple freestanding structures that work together, and develop a strategy for the structures to support as much weight as possible. The also had to present a collaborative solution to a global issue. Team members are Tamara Evans, Caleb Manley, Preston Norris, Sawyer Duke, Tanner Prather, and Lydia Spivey. Team managers are Shannon Manley and Jeff Norris.