Return to Headlines

GISD announces Teachers of the Year for 2020-21




Congratulations to our 2020-21 GISD campus Teachers of the Year!


These teachers are the best of the best, and we are so proud of them and their work with our students. They will represent their campuses for the 2020-21 school year.

  • L.P. Waters Early Childhood Learning Center– Josie Luna
  • Bowie Elementary – Katrina Row
  • Carver Elementary – Kristal Lopez
  • KGJ STEM @ Crockett Elementary – Susanna Berrones
  • Lamar Elementary – Mikel Rios
  • Travis Elementary – Taylor Kinney
  • SGC – Jelesa Washington
  • GMS – Mary Miller
  • New Horizons – Becky Kirst
  • GHS – Joan Nelson


From among these amazing campus teachers of the year, the GISD Teacher of the Year selection committee will read essays in which the teachers of the year described their teaching philosophy. Later this spring, we will announce GISD’s Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year. They will go on to represent GISD at the Region 10 level.


We are looking forward to the first possible opportunity to celebrate with these teachers in person!